A Journey Starts With a Single Step

So why start a blog now? Well for a long time now I have been living with a ‘Black Dog’ (as Matthew Johnstone called it – see video below). That ‘Black Dog’ is nothing visible, or evident from the outside, but is instead hidden deep down, on the inside. The ‘D’ word and ‘A’ word, which cause a wince reminiscent of a swear word, are not often talked about. This is in part due to the fact that sufferers of depression and anxiety can’t talk about it, or don’t want to talk about it. This is a vicious circle as not talking about it leads to further spiraling downwards, as it eats away inside.

I thought I would start this blog for 3 main reasons. Firstly I find it so much easier to express my thoughts and feelings through the written word, rather than verbally. Secondly I hope it may offer encouragement to those who are in a similar situation as well as provide some information to those living with/around sufferers. Finally I think it will be good to have a written account for myself so I can trace the peaks and troughs of my feelings and state of mind.

At the moment I’m not sure how often I will post. It may be as and when I have things to say, or maybe it will end up being daily. I see it as organic, and hopefully its structure will develop over time.

If you’ve got this far then a gold star for you! I look forward to sharing my journey with you.

1 thought on “A Journey Starts With a Single Step”

  1. Good luck, James. I’ve been suffering with something similar for the last 3 1/2 years. It’s absolutely horrible, especially the times when there appears no chance of light appearing at the end of the tunnel. All I can say is try and hang on in there – hopefully your blog will help you get there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

